Advanced Search

Gouging out a “dip” in my blade

Recent Forums Main Forum Gouging out a “dip” in my blade

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Todd Forbes
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 4

Hello, I am fairly new to WEPS, got the Pro Pack III and added the 50/80 stones for reprofiling, have done about 20 knives so stones are just now broken in and I have a pretty good hang on using it. I have run into an issue when trying to reprofile & even up edges on factory knives which never have even bevels or at the angle they say they are.  When lowering the angle down and raising a burr starting on the right side first in an attempt to apex the blade there is often more metal down towards the ricasso or sharpening choil end of the blade so I have to scrub it longer to raise the burr in this area.  In the photo where the grind line dips down towards the sharpening choil 1/“ from the end of the blade, it’s actually a dip in the steel that you can feel with your finger nail.  The location of this dip on the blade is the same exact place as the edge of my stone so I’m wondering if I might have a high spot on the 50/80 or 100/200 grit stones I use to raise a burr when apexing the blade?  I don’t think that it’s because I just spent too long scrubbing this area because the dip is small and not over the entire last 1/4” of the blade.  I suspect it might be the 50/80 stones are not broken in since I haven’t used them on all of the knives I have sharpened and I believe a grit this coarse probably takes longer to break in.
    Have any of you experienced this before?  I’m not sure how to fix it, I guess I could go from its current 15 DPS to 20 DPS which would take down the bevel & and remove a good amount of metal.
    Thanks!

Attachments:
    000Robert
    Participant
    • Topics: 7
    • Replies: 406