Advanced Search

Gen 3 pro w/ LAA – first impressions

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Pat
    Participant
    • Topics: 16
    • Replies: 114

Just got the Gen 3 and purchased the LAA.  I am seasoned on the Gen 2 and still have it, but this is my first time using the LAA as well.

I sharpened 5 knives this weekend in varied lengths, widths, angles, etc….

The unit is perfect.  After getting used to all the bells and whistles and the ease of setup, I was able to move from knife to knife in only seconds.

I even had a Spyderco PM w/ uneven bevels and used the micro adj and it worked just fine.  I admit that I used some slim pliers to slightly (and I mean slightly) snug up the tension on the lock knob after adjusting the micro adj and there was no play nor loosening.  I don’t see the need for a modification to increase the micro adj over what this comes with since I was able to change the angle 3 degrees without issue.