Advanced Search

First knife

Recent Forums Main Forum Getting Started First knife

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    adam egert
    Participant
    • Topics: 3
    • Replies: 15

Hey I was a victim of the lost posts from yesterday.. I had quoted one of the snr members and that post is gone too LOL so I will try to para phrase and repost…

The quoted passage talked about how marker was repeatedly used and about scrubbing motions on low grits while leaving the apex to 200 not 100 or maybe even 400 for more brittle steel. The way it was described was the light bulb. I had read all the wiki and it was getting overwhelming, and I’m an engineer LOL. In the end it is really simple so with the confidence and some printed out jpegs of the marks in sharpie lines on the knife edge for position and angle I got to it on my first knife with new stones…

I was given a set of cheep stamped kitchen utility knifes no brand but full tang and high flat scandi grind(the only way I can describe it)..

I got to positioning and it took about 2 moves to get it right I re applied the sharpie each time and Then I went to set angle it was obvious that it was far from even so I decided to go with the steeper of the 2 and got to the 100 grits… It took a while of scrubbing lightly to get to an apex. Post script I would next time leave that last bit to the 200 by leaving the slightest hint of marker on the top of the edge that is what would have been the apex and moved on to the 200 grit… (did this on the second knife.)