Advanced Search

First knife complete but not to what I wanted

Recent Forums Main Forum First knife complete but not to what I wanted

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Woody
    Participant
    • Topics: 8
    • Replies: 7

So I have a new wicked edge pro pack 2 I’m not new to clamping systems however I am new to wicked edge. My first knife was a joy to work with and it’s razor sharp however it’s not smooth and consistent I have a mirror edge at about just past the halfway point of the blade and all the way to the tip and very satisfied with that but the closer I come back towards the handle the worse it looked still sharp just a consistent polish what would have caused this where did I go wrong and how to I prevent it from happening again so I can be more consistent throughout the entire length of the blade

Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Woody: Welcome to the Wicked Edge users family and the Wicked Edge Forum

Your results will improve remarkably as your stones wear and break-in.  I believe it took at least 8 or 10 knives before I saw the full potential of the new stones, as they got better with use.  The new coarseness, and some high grits spots will wear and even out and you’ll get better sharpening with more consistent scratch marks and smoother edges. Also as you continue down the road to sharpness your technique will improve.  I too had my doubts at the beginning.  That’s a common comment we hear from most new users of Wicked Edge Systems.

Welcome,

Marc

Marc
    (MarcH's Rack-Its)

1 user thanked author for this post.
    Nicko
    Participant
    • Topics: 11
    • Replies: 53