Advanced Search

Does your angle cube reading match your W.E ?

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Does your angle cube reading match your W.E ?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    craig pender
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 3

Hello,
    I am a newbie and I am finding that to get a 20 degree setting verified by my angle cube my Wicked edge must be set to 19 degrees on one side and 21 on the other. What do you see on yours? Is this normal?

Thanks
    Craig

Aaron Smith
    Participant
    • Replies: 8

Is this for every knife you put on the system, or just one specific one? Also, are they all the same kind of grind oe different kinds? Remember that fully flat ground blades need something tho keep them centered based on the geometry of the blade versus the WEPS system.

craig pender
    Participant

I had the same result on my first 4 knives. One was a big buck survival knife. The other 3 were thin H&K steak knives.

Leo James Mitchell
    Participant
    • Topics: 64
    • Replies: 687

When I first got my angle cube, I agonized over the differences I found in the readings too but then I stopped worrying…

There are bound to be differences in readings in even the most precise mechanical rig. When you stop to think about it here are some causes of differences:
    …operator error due to eyesight level and lighting when adjusting the angle setting on each side.
    …variations in the dimple drilling on the angle adjustment bar
    …variations in the screw face that fits into the stop dimples on each side
    …slight variation in setup of the angle adjustment bar on each rig
    …+/- errors in the reading from one cube to another, I believe there is a half a degree error allowance expected in individual angle cubes
    …variation caused by the geometry of the each blade