Advanced Search

convexing the idun

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Tony Pettersen
    Participant
    • Topics: 4
    • Replies: 29

well i got a package from weps today containing the ceramic stones, blank leather strop, 14/10 micron paste, .25 Micron Diamond Spray, ,125micron boron. and 14 & 10 Micron Diamond Paste
    since my very first weps order never arrived here in Norway i only had 1 and ,5 micron strops so blending facets when convexing was very tedious..

so i went 14/10 on the strops to convex and now im in business! :cheer:
    i finished my pro-tech and now its the Fallkniven idun whos next

the protech got 19/20/21/22 degrees but i was thinking of just 3 angles.
    say 17/19/20 or maybt 22/23/24

will this be much harder to blend?
    all and any thoughts on the matter will be much appreciated

i have a 20 degree V-grind now..

wickededge
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 123
    • Replies: 2938

This should be easy to blend. I did the same w/ my F1 and it came out beautifully. Having 3 little facets (maybe 18, 19 & 20 degrees) will make it easier. Stropping at 18 should reach all the facets and blend them nicely.

-Clay

Tony Pettersen
    Participant

ill give 18/19/20 a go and see 🙂

Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

All of the angle sets you suggest should be relatively easy to do. I did a couple of blog posts on this subject: convexing on a WEPS.

Keep in mind, though, that Fallkniven puts very acute angles on some of their knives. I don’t know what the angle of the F1 is at the edge of the edge, but on my A1 it was slightly over 13 degrees!

Molecule Polishing: my blog about sharpening with the Wicked Edge

Tony Pettersen
    Participant

im just finishing up 18/19/20 on the idun with the 1600 ceramic and will be stropping now..

my girlfriends F1 will be next, thinking on trying a steeper last angle say 18/19/22 just to see if it has any realworld use difference.. this is to much fun