Advanced Search

Caping knife

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Eric Cleland
    Participant
    • Topics: 5
    • Replies: 16

What angle would U use for sharpening a caping knife because of the small or shortness of the blade

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Zamfir
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 346

I am no expert by any means but what I am learning around here it really depends on the type of steel and what you are using it for. Some people like a real sharp knife for skinning and I have heard other like them a little more dull and obtuse so they do not cut through the hide. So it would depend on your style of what you like and what kind of steel it is made of. I would think a caping knife would be delicate cuts to remove the hide and any contact around bone would be light. So if you had a good hard steel you could go with a thinner angle. What knife is it? What kind of steel? Are you using it for skinning only or for other things?

Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

Sorry I don’t understand. English is not my first language. What is a caping knife? Or do you mean a camping knife?

Molecule Polishing: my blog about sharpening with the Wicked Edge

tcmeyer
    Participant
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 2095

Mark: A caping knife is a knife used to do the delicate skinning work around an animal’s face (eyes, lips, etc.) It usually has a sharpened point and has a slender blade. Skinning knives normally have long, sweeping curved edges and normally do not have a sharp point. An exception to that rule is the skinner depicted in my avatar here, which does have a sharp, clipped point.. I was pleased to hear recently that the Wyoming rancher who owns it still uses it for skinning and treats it like a prized possession. Now that I have my WEPS, I wish I could sharpen it for him.

Mark76
    Participant

Ah, thanks! Learned again something today :cheer: .