Advanced Search

Can't make my friends knives sharp

Recent Forums Main Forum Can't make my friends knives sharp

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Knivmakeriet
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 2

<hr />

Hi everyone!

I’m new here on the forums, I’ve  have been sharpening for a couple of years now and have had the wicked edge for a little over a year now.

When I first started using We I had some trouble first getting the hand of it but then I practiced a while and got all my own knives sharp. I work as a sushi chef and have always had pretty high quality knives, mostly sg2 and some vg10.

A few days ago a friend asked me to sharpen 2 of his victorinox knives and a 1 thick Shun chefs knife. I thought it would be quick work of the victorinox steel but I just can’t seem to get them right no matter how much I try!

I feel like an idiot for not getting them sharp, I usually try to sharpen all knives at 15 degrees and I’ve been grinding away a lot of steel on them but still don’t feel like I ever hit a decent burr. . . I check with a sharpie to see if I hit the whole bevel and it looks like I find the sweet spot except for the tip on the left side where it looks like I accidentally made it a little convex (maybe I applied too much force and made it a different angle). I guess my question is if I may have accidentally screwed up his knife by removing too much metal and screwed up the bevel, I’m sorry if this post doesn’t make any sense, I’m on mobile right now and it’s kinda hard to type. But this is the first time I don’t know what to do with the knife anymore

Any tips will be much appreciated, I have all stones from 50-1000 and a 2-3k naniwa as well as Nano strap and some spray if that helps.

I can post pictures tomorrow when I get in to work if that helps anything .

Gregg776
    Participant
    • Replies: 59

I’ll take a stab at your problem, just bear in mind that this is my personal opinion and there may be better solutions.