Advanced Search

Can you suggest the proper angles for these knives

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Tips for Specific Knife Grinds and Styles Can you suggest the proper angles for these knives

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Chris Gilmore
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 2

I’m new to the WE and I’m looking for the proper angles to Sharpen the following knives at. any help is appreciated…..

Klein Buck Knife
    Swiss Army Voyager Lite
    Esee 6
    SOG Seal Pup
    Schrade Buck Knife
    Korean Era Bayonet
    Gerber Multi tool
    Gerber Multi tool – needle nose
    SOG Multi Tool S66
    CRKT M21 Full Size
    CRKT M16 Mini
    Benchmade Auto Stryker
    Benchmade Auto Mini
    CRKT Razel SS7

Geocyclist
    Participant
    • Topics: 25
    • Replies: 524

I can help on a few. Definitely check the knife database as well. And please post your knives when done. This gives others like you (and me) hints on how to sharpen, and is a quick way to save our own data. I had to look now to check on one of the answers I gave below.

Swiss Army Voyager Lite – this looks like the standard blade on most “normal” size Swiss Army knives, where the main blade is about 3″ long. I have done 20 degrees on mine. Have not tried less.

SOG Seal Pup – I have a SOG Seal Pup Elite, I forget what the difference is, the Elite has AUS 8, which may be the difference. I did 20 per side. It looks good. I think this will be OK. Looks like the factory edge (sharpened it first time on the WE). was 22 to 25 deg. Since I sharpened it I have not taken it out for heavy use, but I think it will hold up at 20 degrees. I use this knife for bush crafting/hiking work.

Gerber Multi Tool – I have done some Gerber/Leathermans at 20 degrees per side. These were low end, and the steel type was not given. For mine 20 per side looked close to factory.