Advanced Search

Best WE setup for a beginner?

Recent Forums Main Forum Getting Started Best WE setup for a beginner?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    umeuph
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 4

Hi everyone!  Apologies if this has been asked before, but I’m completely new to sharpening, though I do own decently nice knives.  I’ve been having them sharpened locally, but the owner of the shop has changed and the sharpening service has been discontinued.  I know there are threads on learning to sharpen, could you all suggest what WE setup would be best for someone who’s just getting into sharpening?  I want to be get something that I can grow into.  Budget is around 500, though I could go up to 700 if it gets me a setup that makes more sense long term…

Thanks in advance!

Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Welcome to the W.E. Forum “umeuph”.  If you would share with us the kind of knives you’re wanting to sharpen it would help us to help you.  By this I mean: kitchen or chef’s knives, or pocket/folding knives, or craft knives like wood carving knives or leather tooling,  or chisels and plane blades.  Are you looking for an inclusive setup or to buy everything individually.  Is portability important or will you be sharpening only at home.

Any of these particulars will help the decisionmaking process.

Marc
    (MarcH's Rack-Its)

1 user thanked author for this post.
    umeuph
    Participant

Thanks for the welcome!  I’ll be doing pretty much kitchen/chef’s knives exclusively.  I would be comfortable buying a set or individual parts, and portability is not really a consideration – I’ll be sharpening at home!  🙂

Your help is very much appreciated!

Marc H

I suggest you read this thread: Wicked Edge Shopers and Buyers Guide.    I may help you with your decision.

Marc
    (MarcH's Rack-Its)

Organic
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 929