Advanced Search

Benchmade Altitude Questions (Micro bevels & Edge Finish)

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Benchmade Altitude Questions (Micro bevels & Edge Finish)

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Jess
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 4

Hey guys! I’m a total newbie at sharpening, but I finally got my WE130 last week and have been having a blast. I also added the 800/1000 grit, and 1500/2200 grit stones to my kit. I’ve sharpened about 10 cheap knives so far (waiting to break the stones in more before I tackle my Benchmades).

My main questions are about when I finally sharpen my Benchmade Altitude. I will only use this knife to skin & debone elk and deer. I use the gutless method, & I am very careful about not hitting very much bone and hair when dressing the animal. I settled on this knife because of the S90V steel, and my goal is to be able sharpen it in such a way that I can break down an entire elk without needing to re-sharpen or have to do any touch-ups in the field. I’m an “ounce counting” hunter, so I really would not like to have to carry a sharpener in the field (although I’m considering making a small leather strop to throw in my pack). Below are some of the knife’s stats:

Blade Steel: CPM-S90V

Blade Thickness: 0.090″ (2.286mm)

Factory angle: I read on one site that this comes with a 16-degree angle (32 degree inclusive), but I haven’t confirmed that yet.

My two main questions have to do with the angles I use for the bevel, and the final edge finish. I’ve done tons of reading and forum searching on angles, but I’m finding lots of different answers depending on the type of steel and purpose of the knife. I also can’t find posts that pertain to my exact questions, so I’m hoping some of you might be able to help me out. I’m especially interested to hear from any elk hunters, or if you’ve played around with this specific knife.