Advanced Search

Anyone use Nubatama or Suehiro water stones?

Recent Forums Main Forum Anyone use Nubatama or Suehiro water stones?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    microsharp
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 1

Has anyone tried the Nubatama or Suehiro splash and go water stones on the Wicked Edge?  I have only used the diamond and ceramic stones plus the lapping films.

MarcH
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2733

Welcome to the Wicked Edge forum microsharp.

I have used Shapton’s “splash and go” whetstones for years.  Not these brands you mentioned.  I was in fact, just discussing purchasing a set of the Suehiro Brand Whetstones cut and mounted on W.E. paddles yesterday, from my Wicked Edge whetstone vendor.  I have no experience with the Suehiro brand.  I regularly use the Shapton Kuromaku Pro Stones and the coveted, (no longer available for W.E.), Shapton Glass Stones.  I love the results I achieve using them but it is more work and takes more time.

You need to be aware there are fake whetstones being sold.

I don’t use the whetstones as an add-in grit in my sharpening progressions mixed with other W.E. sharpening stone mediums.  I use the “splash and go” stones as a full progression alone, from coarse to fine all by them selves.  They allow me to sharpen the hardest steels well without chipping out or loosing the edge.  Whereas, other stones like diamond stones and ceramics won’t touch these hard steels or just busts off the apex.

The whetstones are consumable.  That is they wear with use.  They dish towards the stone centers and need maintenance with lapping stones or lapping plates to level and smooth them.

Because these stones are non magnetic I use a non-magnetic stone adapter made by forum member “airscapes” to allow me to use my magnetic angle cube with these to set my guide rod angles.