Advanced Search

Angles not wide / large enough?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Ribstabsheart
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 19

Hey all!
    <p style=”text-align: left;”>I got a WE Pro Pack 2 with all the basic bells and whistles, and sharpened every knife in the kitchen as instructed 😀. I’m still learning how to get the perfect angle, but am starting to get a feel for things and have been pretty successful getting a good working edge on most things. Watched pretty much every video I could find as well!</p>
    Today, I was trying to sharpen some random bowie knife from the 70’s, and even at 30°, I couldnt hit the apex. I tried both notches, different positions, and no matter what, there was still a thin black line at the very top. It’s a little smaller than 1/8″ thick, and 1.25″ tall. I’ve basically reprofiled it at this point (that took a while), so it finally meets at 30″; but I’m wondering if I missed something or approached it wrong? The edge’s bevel seemed relatively shallow and high on the blade, and it made me wonder if I dont have the right tools for the job. I’m a little hesitant to try some of my other (nicer) taller blades.

Attachments:
    Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Welcome to the W.E. Forum Ribstabsheart.

It sounds as though you’re putting in the effort and you have a good understanding of what you’re doing. You included a lot in your post. I’ll try to break it down to address each issue.

The W.E. is basically a bench vise that clamps and holds knives vertically allowing us to move the sharpening stones across the knife edge to sharpen it. As long as the knife is held stable and secure in the jaws, whether in-line, above or below the depth key pin holes it really doesn’t matter. These holes are a convenience and a positioning suggestion. Sometimes we need to position a knife above or below the holes. Whatever works for that particular knife to clamp it tight so it can be sharpened.