Advanced Search

A few observations/questions from this weeks use

Recent Forums Main Forum Getting Started A few observations/questions from this weeks use

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Josh-L
    Participant
    • Topics: 6
    • Replies: 13

I got my WE120 last week.  I’m a total novice at knife sharpening.  Never done it before and figured if I wanted to start I’d invest in the best from the get go.  I found two old and nasty Old Timer three blade folders in a box and an old fixed blade to practice on.  So I’ve basically sharpened six small folders and the fixed blade.  I came away with a few observations and some questions….

Observations:

I noticed that when I create a burr it takes me say 10 passes on the right side and then only 2 or 3 on the left for some reason.  I would imagine it would take about the same amount of strokes but maybe not?

I started using the up and away strokes but watched a youtube video and the guy suggested not doing that and doing an up/down scrubbing type stroke instead.  I experimented with this and think I did get better results doing it this way but all of Clay’s video show him using the quick up and away strokes for the most part.

The other observation is after the 100/200 the edge feels super crazy sharp and then feels less sharp as I move up the grits.  I have the 100/200, 400/600 and 800/1000 right now.  I also got a 5/3.5 leather strop but I haven’t tried that yet.

So my questions are this…

Is it normal to work a lot harder on one side to create a burr than the other?

Is the scrubbing method ok or preferred to the up/away method or is there a place/time for both?

Why does it feel less sharp as I go up in grits?  The polished edges look sexy but if they are less sharp then I won’t use them on my hunting knives.  But if there’s a benefit to it then I’ll do it.