Advanced Search

5/3.5 or 1/.5 leathers strops?

Recent Forums Main Forum Sharpener and Accessory Maintenance Strops 5/3.5 or 1/.5 leathers strops?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Thomas
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 1

When I about my wicked edge Pro package 1 I opted to get the 1200 / 1600 ceramic stones in place of the leather strops. After using the wicked edge for a while I’m wanting to buy some leather strops to further polish the edge. I’m not sure which strops to buy going from the 1200 / 1600 ceramic stones. Should I by the 5 / 3.5 diamond paste strops or the 1 / .5 diamond paste leather strops after using the 1200 / 1600 ceramic stones?

Mr.Wizard
    Participant
    • Topics: 6
    • Replies: 190

I have no experience with either of these specific products so take my opinion for what it’s worth.

Grit recedes deeply into a soft substrate like leather therefore compounds act far finer than their particle size would suggest. Look at the micrographs provided[/url] for both the 1600 ceramic and 14 micron pasted strop. The 14 micron strop produces a far higher polish. Skipping it and attempting to jump to a finer compound i.e. 5 micron will probably not work as well as you would like, especially if your goal is a mirror polish. I recommend that you get the 14/10 micron strops to use after the 1600 ceramics.

Mark McClain
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 9

I agree totally with the 14/10 combo that is all you can afford to get. Honestly, after my ceramics, I use the 14/10 strop combo, Then I go to the 5/3.5 then I use the 1.05 and add two more with substrates of CBN. That’s just me you will do fine with that. Best of success.

Thomas
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 1

Thanks to both of you for steering me in the right direction.

Ian Minton
    Participant
    • Topics: 6
    • Replies: 8