Advanced Search

2017 gen 3 vice

Recent Forums Main Forum 2017 gen 3 vice

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Metalhead
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 2

Hello, I have been using my gen 1 sharpener for about 3 years now and I’m interested in some upgrades.  I’m definitely going to upgrade the arms as I’m still using the originals with the double pivot.  I’m interested in the gen 3 vice but I’ve heard criticisms of it such as inability to handle small angles,  poor gripping strength, not truly capable of handling full flat ground blades, etc.  In one of the other recent posts on this forum, someone said that the 2017 gen 3 vice addresses these shortfalls and has been improved for 2017.   To be honest I’m an intermediate sharpener who only sharpens occasionally and my old gen 1 vice actually works pretty well but I am intrigued by this vice if it actually performs as well as it should.

Organic
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 929

Welcome to the forum Metalhead!

I don’t have the new 2017 version of the clamp (yet), but I can speak to a few of the issues you mentioned with the first version.

The angles you can get on any given knife before hitting the clamp depend heavily on the height of the blade; the taller the blade, the lower the angles you can achieve because it moves the cutting edge away from the clamp jaws. On blades that don’t sit very high off of the clamp, low angles can be inhibited by the clamp jaws. That said, you can also get the low angle adapter or the Tormek small knife adapter and then lower angles become almost a non-issue.

I have never had an issue with weak clamping. It is true that you can’t adjust how much force is applied, but I can lift the whole sharpening unit by a knife handle and it does not move.