Advanced Search

WE Go, WE100?

Recent Forums Main Forum Getting Started WE Go, WE100?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 37

Hi,

I am planning to get a WE Go/WE100PR1-2 – just want to confirm if they are using the “new” 2017 standard? I hope that no matter which system I use, I could use interchange stones without issue.

For WE Go, my setup will be: 200/600 (+ 800/1000 + 1500/Glass) all diamond

For WE100PR1-2, my setup will be: 100/200 + 400/600 (+ 800/1000 + 1500/Glass) all diamond

I have some experience in Edge Pro style sharpener (Hapstone) and freehand sharpening. I am able to put a working edge (slicing through paper) on the knives but not shaving sharp (scraping off skin mostly – inconsistent). I am looking towards getting better consistency and result. From what I see the “supersteel” (high vanadium et al, s30v, s35vn, XHP, ZDP189, s90v, s110v) should be good on the WE. Full Flat Grind should be okay as well.

I already have various kind of diamond, ceramic stone and strops for some final touch up. Please let me know if I missed anything, thanks.

1 user thanked author for this post.
    MarcH
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2733

Welcome loremipsum, yes the stones both old and new are interchangeable and useable with all WEPS, any model or era.  The only thing you lack from your intended order, or at least, failed to mention, is possibly a strop pair.  The strops really bring out the sharpness of my edges,

Marc
    (MarcH's Rack-Its)

2 users thanked author for this post.
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Thank you very much. I think I have to order the Pro I after all.

Organic
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 929

Hi loremipsum!