Advanced Search

What are you useing? Strops or film or both

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Abrasives What are you useing? Strops or film or both

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Mikeyv
    Participant
    • Topics: 4
    • Replies: 10

Wanting to see who is useing strops, who is useing lapping film or who is useing both?? If u want to state why then go ahead but really just looking to compare how many people is useing each at this point in time.

driwash2
    Participant
    • Topics: 7
    • Replies: 15

Using both with great results.

Mikeyv
    Participant
    • Replies: 10

Great. I’m very new to the weps and find this forum very very very useful. I’m starting off with just the film. Really just trying to get a consensus from the the veterans on here.  Thanks for your input.

driwash2
    Participant
    • Topics: 7
    • Replies: 15

The more you use the W/E you will see how scary sharp a cutting edge can get.

Organic
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 929

I’m no veteran, but I have been using both the strops and the diamond films. There’s no doubt, the films bring out a high polish much faster than the strops do and it feels like the edge is sharper after using only the films. There are several threads on this forum about the effects of stropping that might be interesting reading if you’re trying to learn the differences. The bottom line seems to be this; strops will give you a slightly convexed bevel whereas the films leave the bevel flat.

1 user thanked author for this post.
    378pete
    Participant
    • Replies: 19

Just film, I find it easier. I don’t have to worry about cross contamination and the mess of the paste.

Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

I use the films if looking for a visually polished edge. The strops I use to smooth the toothyness of the bevel. This stops the grab when slicing paper and I believe the edge feels sharper when stropped.