Advanced Search

Steak Knife Touch Up Issue

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Steak Knife Touch Up Issue

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 29 total)
  • Author
    Readheads
    Participant
    • Topics: 32
    • Replies: 308

I’ve been using WEPS Field and Sport Pro for a couple of years now and have grown my set to include Alum Oxide films and emulsions. I am able to put very sharp edges on all my knives which I measure by the ability to do slice cuts through lightly folded bends of single phone book pages (the only use for a phone book for me anymore). I do find that my carbon edges (Shun Blue) come out the sharpest.

The issue I have is with my non-serrated Henckel 4 star steak knives. I have 8 of them and we use them every day while eating. I know that using them on dinner plates damages the edge but I do not care since they are a pleasure to use. I use a ceramic hone (~1000 grit) to ever so gently (3-4 times per alternate side) straighten the edge every few days. Of course this is done free hand. I scrape my thumb nail to know when the edge is straightened. I can tell which side needs straightening during the process by tilting the knife during the thumb scraping motion.