Advanced Search

small pocket knives

Recent Forums Main Forum Knife Specific Discussion small pocket knives

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    mitch roberson
    Participant
    • Topics: 4
    • Replies: 5

I am new to wicked edge. Still have not received mine. It was ordered last week hope it comes soon. But in the mean time doing some research. I have about 30 small pocket knives that I need to sharpen. Most are 20 or 30 years old and many are the 3 blade type. I have not found a single video or any information about sharpening them on wep. Any suggestions would be appreciated

Austin Nelson
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 25

The tormek jig might become your best friend

Austin

1 user thanked author for this post.
    mitch roberson
    Participant

I was just looking at that. Anyone have any videos with the wicked edge low angle adapter?

tcmeyer
    Participant
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 2095

the low angle adapter works very well, and is impressively stiff when clamped in the main vise. I have used it for some small pocket knife blades, but as vono360 says above, the Tormek small knife adapter fits equally well in the WEPS vise and worked very well for every pocket knife I’ve been asked to do. The only handicap is when you run into an older knife with loose joints, the blade is dangling unsupported and will move while you work the edges. In cases where I couldn’t deal with that, I’d try the low angle adapter.

It’s nice to have a well-stocked tool box.

mitch roberson
    Participant

Purchased both thanks for the reply

Austin Nelson
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 25

Wish I could attest to use of the laa but unfortunately have not picked one up yet!

Austin

000Robert
    Participant
    • Topics: 7
    • Replies: 406

My WE-130 works great using the LAA. It also helps to have the 12″ guide rods. The only blades I have had trouble with are the tiny spey blades. So I sharpen them by hand.