Advanced Search

Sharpening Maxamet with Diamonds…

Recent Forums Main Forum Sharpening Maxamet with Diamonds…

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Tactical Texture LLC
    Participant
    • Topics: 4
    • Replies: 21

Hi guys,

I’m looking at getting a Spyderco Native 5 in this steel and wanted to see if any of you have sharpened these on diamond stones?  I found THIS post where a poster tried using water stones, then switched to ceramics, but nothing on just a straight progression of diamonds.

Also, I have a Gen III with diamonds through 1500 grit, the micro fine ceramics as well as diamond films and various strops as well.

I’m just trying to get an idea of a progression and finish for this steel as I’ve never tried it before.

Organic
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 929

In the OP from that thread he says he used the Atoma plates. Aren’t those diamond based?

Tactical Texture LLC
    Participant

In the OP from that thread he says he used the Atoma plates. Aren’t those diamond based?

The Atoma’s are aftermarket stones.  They are a type of diamond, but different that the WE stock stones.

Mario Contino
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 4

I checked Odawan, they said they’re not stocking those stones anymore.

Mikedoh
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 570

This may be helpful from Cliff Stamps forum.

http://www.cliffstamp.com/knives/forum/read.php?6,65592

1 user thanked author for this post.
    Tactical Texture LLC
    Participant

This may be helpful from Cliff Stamps forum. http://www.cliffstamp.com/knives/forum/read.php?6,65592

Thanks for the link!  Looks like I’m going to have to do some experimenting with this steel on my own once I pull the trigger on it.  Looks like the biggest challenge is getting it sharp without chipping the apex.  With the combination of diamonds/ceramics and diamond films I’m sure I’ll find a recipe someday!

Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760