Advanced Search

Primary sharpening goal

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Primary sharpening goal

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Henry
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 3

I have little experience sharpening blades and that is the reason for buying the WESP. My primary goal is to sharpen my kitchen and hunting knives for efficiency. With that in mind I have several questions:
    1. Is the more polished edge (presuming the sharpest too) the edge that will hold up the longest or
    best to, say, stop at 1200 (diamond) and then touch up by honing?
    2. First time a knife (without chips/dings) is sharpened do you always start with a 100 grit and
    then go through all the progression?

Hopefully you can understand what I am trying to accomplish!

Don Llewellyn
    Participant
    • Topics: 4
    • Replies: 43

I am by no means an expert but from my short experience I’d say on #1 go as high as you can with the stones you have – a polished edge is an incredible cutter. For #2 no I don’t always start at 100 grit. Lately I’m sharpening Case knives that have the factory edge and I start at 400 as I’m just polishing away the grind lines Case left behind. By the time I get to 1600 and strop to 3.5 micron they are WAY sharper than when I started.

Leo James Mitchell
    Participant
    • Topics: 64
    • Replies: 687

Hi Henry
    Recently I sent 4 knives to Clay to use in an experiment to compare the results from a sharpening with a full set of Chosera and Shapton stones right through from 100 grit paddles to the finest grit of those excellent Japanese stones…the highly polished edges on those 4 knives were so sharp that they seemed to literally melt the paper in the usual paper cutting test and the hair on my arm magically disappeared with no pulling as each blade moved over my arm. I have never had such sharp knives before. So I believe that probably gives you my answer to question 1.