Advanced Search

No ceramics, no strops. Bad idea?

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies No ceramics, no strops. Bad idea?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Anarchy84
    Participant
    • Topics: 5
    • Replies: 61

Greetings!

I’ve been collecting high end production / mid range customs for several years now, and while I’m obsessed with carrying scary sharp knives, I’ve always left he sharpening to the pros. Now, after putting it off for ‘one more knife purchase’ numerous times, I’ve finally taken the plunge and bought myself a Wicked Edge – the 2017 Gen 3 Pro.

Prior to making the purchase I watched countless hours of video and read through as many posts as I could on this forum. As a result, in order to satisfy my need for the sharpest edges I can possibly get, I decided to forgo ceramic stones and strops entirely. The stones, platens and diamond lapping films I ordered are as follows:

100-1000 grit diamond

1500 grit diamond / glass platen (6 micron film)

Glass / glass platen (3 micron, 1 micron film)

Glass / glass platen (0.5 micron, 0.1 micron film)

In my mind this progression seems great. I don’t run the risk of a convex edge with leather strops and I save time by using the 1500 + diamond lapping films rather than using ceramics.

While I enjoy a polished edge, I don’t need to read the paper in it. I’d just like it to be as sharp as possible. So my question is…will this provide the results I’m looking for? Could I obtain a sharper edge using other accessories that I did not purchase?

I appreciate any and all input.

Thanks!

dulledge
    Participant
    • Topics: 12
    • Replies: 183

You are not alone, many reputable people on this forum prefer to use Diamond Lapping Film instead of ceramics

https://knife.wickededgeusa.com/forums/topic/stone-sequence/#post-36201