Advanced Search

New member introduction

Recent Forums Main Forum New member introduction

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Coppiclan
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 2

I thought I would introduce myself to the Wicked Edge community. I live in Southern California and have a wife and two kids. I have been sharpening knives for about 25 years using wet stones. I worked as a butcher for 5 years when I was younger, and learned from an old time butcher. Sharpening a good knife with a wet stone is truly an art, when done well. Over the years, I have learned to get very good results, but there is a problem. I just don’t have the extra time right now to spend with a knife and a wet stone. My kids take up most of my time with their activities, and that’s fine. However, over the years though, my knifes have gotten dull, to my extreme irritation and, to be honest, embarrassment.

I looked online and on YouTube for different sharpening systems and I found the Wicked Edge.  For me, it came down to the Wicked Edge or the Edge Pro. I choose the Wicked Edge for three main reasons:

• It was the only quality system out there that lets you use both hands at once, saving a lot of time. One can argue, about half the time.
    • The advantage of not having to level a wet stone over repeated use is another time saver. I do not want to take that extra step and something I do not want to worry about.
    • I like that this system lets you place the knife into a vice, which allows you to use both hands to do something else. In essence, you can walk away and then return knowing the knife is ready to be worked on again. I big plus for me considering I am chasing children around the house sometimes.

Summery of the above: VERY SHARP KNIFES, VERY LITTLE TIME

I am not really a big “knife guy”, and I don’t own too many pocket knifes. More of a gun guy and know a thing or two about combat shooting.