Advanced Search

jewelers loupe or usb microscope

Recent Forums Main Forum Getting Started jewelers loupe or usb microscope

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    DeeR
    Participant
    • Topics: 3
    • Replies: 20

I’ve been sharpening with a WE PP2 for a few years.  I don’t sharpen daily and sometimes not even weekly but I do several knives each month.   So I shouldn’t have such an elementary question but here goes.  From you-alls many great posts I recognize the importance of making sure the previous stone scratches always be removed.  In order to do so you need to be able to get a good visual of the edge.  I’ve tried using a 60 power loupe but it is so awkward, meaning by face has to be right next to the blade and the angle needs to be just so. Anyway, you all know what I’m talking about.  Is there a jewelers loupe or usb microscope that would make examining edge scratch marks fairly easy for an old guy with challenging eyesight. With this small loupe I have it’s frustrating enough that I easy discourage from trying to look and just try to go by feel.  Well, I’ not good enough at this to do that yet so I’m hoping for some helpful direction.  Thanks for you help.

M1rrorEdge
    Participant
    • Topics: 8
    • Replies: 222

Some of the distinguished gentleman on this forum prefer to use a USB Microscope connected to a computer/computer monitor.  I find it much easier to use myself.  A loupe  is great when I am on the road but when I am at my bench, I use a USB Microscope exclusively.  Tom Meyer (TCMEYER) posted this video which you may find very helpful. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T5zYbCpLwcQ   I have both a cheap “Chinese Like” USB scope like TCMEYER and a more expensive Dino Lite.  I use the cheap one most  of the time  while the knife is in the WE vise just like TCMEYER.  If you find this helpful, please let me know.

Source One-Amazon:  Click Here