Advanced Search

Japanese Knives and Wicked Edge – advice sought

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Task Specific Knife Sharpening Cooking Japanese Knives and Wicked Edge – advice sought

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Paul Tuck
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 0

Hi,

I love the look of the Wicked Edge and particularly the easy learning curve. I’m a home chef with a busy work life so spending a dozen hours a month learning/practicing with freehand to get good enough to sharpen my Gyuto and Sujihike doesn’t fill me with enthusiasm, so I’m considering the Wicked Edge system. There’s a lot of advice and videos out there of people using it with folding/hunting knives but not a lot with cooking knives.

What I’m hoping for is to get feedback from those who are using the Wicked Edge system with their Japanese cooking knives.

How are you finding the system with thinner blades/more acute angles?

Are you still using whetsones and if so why?

Any tips/advice/things you wish you’d known before starting (e.g. is the pro pack essential, or the narrower angle upgrade).

Before dropping £300+ on a sharpening system, which would let me get a whole set of better waterstones, I’d love to hear back from those actively using it on a regular basis.

Daniel maloon
    Participant
    • Topics: 10
    • Replies: 209

Hi PST,
    I’ve sharpened many different Japanese style knives on the Wicked Edge. I know I haven’t seen it all when it comes to Japanese knives, but I haven’t had a problem yet with the ones that customers send to me for knife sharpening . The W.E. does have waterstones available in various grits, so you get waterstones and precision sharpening in one package. The low angle adapter is useful in certain circumstances but I don’t use it often. I still have and use full sized stones occasionally.

Johpe
    Participant
    • Topics: 9
    • Replies: 71