Advanced Search

Greetings from HellTown

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat Greetings from HellTown

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    RLDubbya
    Participant
    • Topics: 8
    • Replies: 24

Greetings, everybody.

I’m new to the Wicked Edge fold, but have hopped in and wanted to give a huge thanks to Kyle & Clay from the MotherShip, and another huge thanks to Josh from REK, who has been a most excellent friend over the past months. Kyle & Clay have both gone above and beyond for me, and I greatly appreciate all their assistance.

HellTown is the “legend” name of this part of Ohio; it is on the border of the National Park south of Cleveland, and arose from stories of haunted buildings and such over the years after the feds took over most of the land by right of eminent domain and then let family homes sit abandoned for up to 10, 20, 30 years. But that’s a story for another day, another time – Wikipedia has the outlines of it, but they miss much.

I was Chief Technology Officer for a small IT webhosting, development, and training company for quite sometime, until one day in 2015 I passed out with no warning. I had always been pretty healthy, competing in strongman and lifting heavy, but I had been struggling. Turns out that at age 55 I had a rare terminal cancer for which there isn’t much in the way of treatment, let alone a cure. I kept working for another 9 months after getting out of the ICU; one morning, I started to vomit blood, and long story short, I nearly died from internal damage caused by the cancer. I was placed in a coma for a week and intubated as they worked on me and my wife had last rites performed.