Advanced Search

Forging and Heat Treating

Recent Forums Main Forum Forging and Heat Treating

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Hapslappy
    Participant
    • Topics: 8
    • Replies: 30

I’m not a knife maker. What I am, by trade, is a journeyman forger and heat treater. I can answer many, but not all, questions about either one. If someone asks me a question I can’t answer, I will admit it, look it up and post the results.

I don’t hold a degree in metallurgy but understand enough metallurgical principals to perform both jobs.

4 users thanked author for this post.
    Josh
    Participant
    • Topics: 89
    • Replies: 1672

Great to have this resource, thanks!!

1 user thanked author for this post.
    Organic
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 929

This is very cool.

I have a question: Is it really possible to damage the heat treatment on a blade during sharpening? I’ve heard this given as one of the reasons that belt-driven sharpening solutions are not as good as using a slow and controlled method (like sharpening on the Wicked Edge). Obviously, these systems have other problems (removing too much material in a short period of time), but is it true that they can actually change the heat treatment on a knife?

Welcome to the forum!

Hapslappy
    Participant

Hardenable steels are hardened by heating the material to 1550 degrees F and holding it at temperature for one hour per inch of cross section but never less than one hour and then quenching it in oil.

At this point the material is too hard and brittle for most applications and needs to be “tempered” to the correct hardness suitable to it’s end use.  This is called “drawing the temper” or simply “drawing”.

This is accomplished by heating the steel as quenched to somewhere between 300 degrees F and 1100 degrees F depending on the desired hardness of the finished product. The higher the drawing temperature, the softer the steel will become.