Advanced Search

Edge angles below 15 degrees

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Edge angles below 15 degrees

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    flatpik6
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 2

Hello,

I am very new to sharpening, new to Wicked Edge and new to this forum. I purchased the system primarily for my use in sharpening my quality kitchen knives as I am an avid amateur cook. The knives I prefer most of german made and come from the factory with either 14 or 10 degree angles. I have no interest in reprofiling them and I’m very satisfied with them aside from becoming dull.

It appears to me that the Wicked Edge system only goes down to 15 degrees and I would like to know how I can set up the system to either the 14 or 10 degree profiles I am seeking.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. For what it’s worth I did purchase a digital angle gauge , (which I have yet to learn to use), in case that would be useful.

Organic
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 929

Hello flatpik6 and welcome to the forum! Sharpening angles lower than 15 degrees per side can be achieved using the low angle adapter. The degree markings on the wicked edge are calibrated for a knife that sits something like 3/4 of an inch (don’t quote me on that) above the clamp and will not be accurate for knives that sit lower or higher than that. The digital angle gauge that you purchased will help you measure the actual angle you are sharpening at. Here’s a video that demonstrates how to use the angle cube.

3 users thanked author for this post.
    flatpik6
    Participant

Organic, thanks very much for the reply. You answered both questions for me and I truly appreciate that. My wife and daughters bought the rig for me a few months ago but we’ve been preoccupied with the final stages of construction on our mountain home. I”m really excited about becoming proficient with sharpening. Thanks again for the reply.

Organic