Advanced Search

Clamping

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Jerry Stephenson
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 15

Hello,
    I’m new here. Haven’t bought the wicked edge yet but am about to. Just looking for the best “pro pack” deal to get something to take me from the reprofiled edge to the mirror. I currently keep most of my knives sharp enough to shave your arm using a combination of a DMT system and a lansky. I grew up in Missouri where my dad had much more time than money and we sharpened our knives by hand on Arkansas stones and indeed it sometimes took hours and days to get a new knife sharpened. Of course you might only buy a new knife once every 10 years. But now I have a collection and I’m an engineer and I appreciate precion, repeatability, and a mirror finish. So after quite a bit of internet research, I’m sold on the Wicked Edge.

Here is my main concern. How do I clamp knives that don’t have a parallel area to clamp to? Here are a few examples from my collection:

1. Double edged knives such as the Benchmade infidel.
    2. Tapered spine knives such as the benchmade 470.
    3. Flat ground knives such as the Benchmade/Paul 230.
    4. Hollow ground knives such as the CRKT Kommer 30-30. Hollow ground to top edge.
    5. Clamping the sharpened side of a knife to put an edge on the spine: example a Besh wedge. Probably different than the infidel since the infidel can be clamped in the middle. The besh wedge is a large blade that will have to be clamped on the taper.

looking through other knives in my collection, I see the Benchmade 9500 Mini auto stryker has a tapered spine but had a flat section that the clamp is probably deep enough to grab so that shouldn’t be a problem. One of my favorite dress knives, the Paul/Benchmade 245 with cocobolo scales, has a very small flat section that was big enough to clamp the Lansky clamp onto so I assume it will be ok for the WE.