Advanced Search

Bevel issues

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Spike2kx
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 7

Ok so I’m fairly new to the we, have had it about 2 months now. My question is I see people using this system and they get nice small bevels like on crk sebenzas at 17dps convex edge where I’m getting larger bevels. I recently acquired a chaves 228 and resharpened it and the bevel came out a lot larger than expected I did 20dps on it. I’m kind of at a loss I like the look of small bevels like the crk and would prefer to keep them like that. any insight or help is appreciated. Thanks in advance

Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

Welcome to the forum, Spike2kx!

I think there could be two things. One is the angle you’re sharpening at. The smaller the angle, the larger the bevel will appear. This is related to the thickness of the knife: the same angle on a thick knife will appear larger than on a thin knife. So one of the things you could do is increase the angle.

Another thing that could be the case is when the bevel is uneven in thickness. In that case you’re having problems in finding the “sweet spot”. You can find some help here: https://www.wickededgeusa.com/finding-the-sweet-spot-positioning-your-knife-from-front-to-back/ .

This instruction may be useful, too: https://www.wickededgeusa.com/how-to-find-your-angle/ .

Success! And let us know how you’re doing.

Molecule Polishing: my blog about sharpening with the Wicked Edge

2 users thanked author for this post.
    Spike2kx
    Participant

My bevels are coming out even.  I get a burr on both sides and also use the same amount of strokes on each side. I’ll post pictures when it gets light out of my Chaves.

Josh
    Participant
    • Topics: 89
    • Replies: 1672