Advanced Search

Best order of stones for elk hunting knife.

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Task Specific Knife Sharpening Hunting Best order of stones for elk hunting knife.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Mark
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 2

Hello all,

I’m new to this forum and will be receiving a wicked edge GO soon, I hope. Me and a few friends and coworkers drew elk tags this year and I was wondering what everyone likes for their edge. I know each person will be different but I want a few things to try when it gets here. I am a beginner but can deal with information overload, so please don’t hold back.

Thanks in advance,

Mark

1 user thanked author for this post.
    MarcH
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2733

I wouldn’t engage in this subject matter.  My area of experience are the meats that come in cryovac or scales, not fur and skin.  Clay, the creator of Wicked Edge has the expertise and first hand experience to help you in this area.  I’m sure he’ll chime in.

Welcome to our Forum Mark!

Marc
    (MarcH's Rack-Its)

wickededge
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 123
    • Replies: 2938

Add the 800/1000 stones and the 5/3.5 strops.

-Clay

4 users thanked author for this post.
    Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

Welcome to the forum, Mark.

— Mark 🙂

Molecule Polishing: my blog about sharpening with the Wicked Edge

Mark
    Participant

Thanks for welcoming me to the forum. Right now, I’m thinking of diving in and supplumenting the wicked edge GO with the 800/1000, 1500/glass platen on which will be 6 micron diamond lapping film, and 4/2 diamond emulsion strops. In addition to what I asked earlier, could you also give input on the best strop medium. I see they are all priced the same if bought with the compound as if they are bought without.

Thanks

Mark

Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760